3D Design & Architecture - Foundation Diploma

The UAL Level 4 programme in 3D Design offers a strong sector related emphasis on practical skills development, allowing you to obtain the required practical, technical and vocational knowledge to enable you to work as a competent practitioner in the design industry. The programme provides a thorough grounding in the key concepts of 3D Design, which is then extended further and tailored to your specialist pathway. This qualification allows for direct progression to employment or to a Design related degree programme

You will benefit from being able to apply your new knowledge within 3D Design industry workplace environments. Through regular guidance from industry professionals and “live” projects, you will be able to evaluate, develop and progress your skills, allowing you to embark upon a successful career in 3D Design.

Our Study Programme includes opportunities for you to develop your English and Maths skills as required. You may be expected to complete either functional skills or GCSE qualifications as part of your course depending on your GCSE results.

Entry requirements

Level 3 Extended National Diploma or
3 A-Levels A-C

We also accept equivalent qualifications, including:
• UAL Extended Diploma
• BTEC/National Diploma
• International Baccalaureate
• Advanced & Progression Diplomas
Access courses

Plus: GCSE English language & Math’s with a minimum of grade C or recognised equivalent are required

Students over 21:

If you do not have the above UCAS for GCSE requirements but have appropriate experience, specific knowledge or industry-based qualifications, your application will be welcomed and still considered.

Progression / Careers


Interior Design

Product / Industrial Design


Tuition Fees:
16-18 - free
19+ Advanced Learning Loan - £TBA
Material Fee - £150

Exam and Registration Fees (payable by all aged 19 and over): £175

This course may also attract additional costs, for example, kit, uniform or books, that all students will be required to pay. Please contact the College for further details.

Modes of assessment

A combination of assignments, practical assessments and presentations.

All 7 units are formally assessed using a Pass or Fail system apart from the final unit that is assessed and graded using Pass, Merit or Distinction.