Computing and Systems Development HNC Diploma

The Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma in Computing and Systems Development (QCF) provides a specialist work-related programme of study that covers the key knowledge, understanding and practical skills required in the computing sector and also offers particular specialist emphasis through the choice of specialist units.

The Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma in Computing and Systems Development (QCF) is a qualification with a minimum of 120 credits of which 45 credits are mandatory core. The BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma programme must contain a minimum of 65 credits at level 4.

The course offers a progression route for learners who are employed in the IT and computing sectors. Learners studying the BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma will be able to progress to the workplace or to a BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma or a degree programme.

Aims of programme

The educational aims of the programme are to:

• Equip individuals with knowledge, understanding and skills for success in employment in the computing industry.
• Enable progression to an undergraduate degree or further professional qualification in computing or a related area.
• Provide opportunities for specialist study relevant to individual vocations and contexts.
• Support individuals employed or entering employment in the computing industry.
• Develop the individual’s ability in the computing industry through effective use and combination of the knowledge and skills gained in different parts of the programme.
• Develop a range of skills and techniques, personal qualities and attributes essential for successful performance in working life and thereby enabling learners to make an immediate contribution to employment.

For further information on course content please click here

Programme contents

Compulsory Courses

• Unit 1: Business Skills for e-Commerce: 15
• Unit 2: Computer Systems: 15
• Unit 3: Employability and Professional Development: 15

Specialised Courses

• Unit 14: Website Design: 15
• Unit 17: Database Design Concepts: 15
• Unit 19: Object Oriented Programming: 15
• Unit 24: Networking Technologies: 15
• Unit 26: Design a Small or Home Office Network: 15

Awarding body


Entry requirements

Students under 21:

48 UCAS points, of which no more than 6 points should come from AS levels.

We also accept equivalent qualifications, including:

. BTEC/National Diploma
. International Baccalaureate
. Advanced & Progression Diplomas
. Access courses

Plus: GCSE English language & Maths with a minimum of grade C or recognised equivalent are required

Students over 21:

If you do not have the above UCAS for GCSE requirements but have appropriate experience, specific knowledge or industry-based qualifications, your application will be welcomed & still considered.

Progression / Careers

The HNC in Computing and Systems Development offers a progression route into various employment roles in IT and Software Development. The HNC in Computing and Systems Development also offers direct progression to the HND.



Modes of assessment

A variety of assessment methods are used that include practical observation, essay-based coursework, numerical and situational problem solving coursework, and presentations. Student centred learning involving library based work, video and computer based analysis will be encouraged.

Additional information


This information may be subject to change without prior notice.

Timetables are normally available one week before registration. Please note that while we make every effort to ensure that timetables are as student-friendly as possible, scheduled teaching can take place on any day of the week.