Computing and iMedia


Our highly technical Computing and iMedia Department benefits from current industry-standard computing hardware and software, which allows you to learn using the latest equipment and technology. You will be taught by staff who have benefited from gaining their knowledge and experience, first-hand from the industry.   

A range of full-time, part-time and Higher Education courses are offered within Computing, at both the Dartford and Gravesend campuses. These include; General Office and IT Skills, Microsoft Software Applications, Digital Devices, Technical Hardware/Software, Programming, Web and Game Design; plus our recently added Level 2 Gaming Diploma. 

Courses are offered at all levels in your career development, from Foundation Level to Higher Education. The courses are designed to meet the needs of the individual as well as industry and commerce. So, no matter what your grades are, we have a course that will help you get to where you want to go, whether into the workplace or Higher Education. We also have a high level of achievement and progression into employment and Higher Education and have prominent recognition with employers.

For those who wish to get started in IT, there are general courses at Level 1 and 2. If you wish to specialise in gaming technologies, programming, ICT Systems Support, IT and Business, we have courses available at Level 3 and our brand new Level 4, Higher National Diploma (HND) in Computing and Systems Development.

North Kent College is a Microsoft IT Academy, providing part-time Microsoft courses to business or individuals who wish to update their qualifications. The Computing Department also offers part-time tailor-made training to local organisations in and around the local. 

What will I learn? 

Each course has specific industry skills that will help prepare you for employment. Most of our courses are assessed through course work, with no end of year exams, but please see the individual course descriptions for more information.

What qualification will I gain? 

Most courses in Computing are BTEC’s Level 2 to 3 Certificates/Diplomas. The Extended Diploma is equivalent to three A-Levels and converts to UCAS points for university entry. For explanations of our qualifications, please see our Qualification Explained page.

What progression options will I have? 

You can progress from Level 1 and 2 on to Level 3 General IT, with industry specifics or the Games Diploma. We are now offering Computing at Higher Education, so you are able to progress onto the Higher National Diploma in Computing and Systems Development. You can find work within the industry in areas such as, Gaming, Social Media, E-commerce and IT Support etc.

What costs are involved? 

A materials fee is attached to the course, which you can find on the individual course information. Full-time Further Education courses are free for students aged 16-18, you may have to pay some or all of your fees if you are aged 19 plus, but please see our Student Finance page for further information. If you are enrolling on a part-time or Higher Education course, fees are applicable.

Entry requirements? 

Each course has its own entry requirements, but generally, you will need to hold the pre-level qualification to the level that you are interested in, but please see individual courses for the correct information. Applicants are interviewed to decide if the course is the right one for you. 

Click here to view Computing and iMedia courses or call 01322 629400.