Achievement and Success for Further Education students at the inaugural Awards Night!

10th July 2018

North Kent College proudly held their first Further Education Awards Ceremony on Wednesday 4th July, to acknowledge and reward students on their achievements throughout their studies. 

The successful students who had been nominated by their Curriculum Managers, were invited to attend the evening celebration, along with their guests, in the Osterberg Centre, at the Dartford Campus. They had been put forward for an award for various reasons, from improvement in their studies, to going above and beyond in their course, and even to overcoming adversity.

Guests were welcomed by a buffet reception, before being serenaded as they took to their seats, by a live performance from the band, ‘Atomic Celery’. Members of ‘Atomic Celery’ are our very own NKC students, who formed the band during their time here, and were keen to perform a set before they perform at Dartford Festival this coming weekend.

The awards were split into a range of categories including Curriculum Manager’s Awards, Assistant Principal’s Awards, Vice Principal’s Awards and Principal’s Awards. Before each student was presented with their glass trophy and certificate, the audience were told of how and why they had been awarded this honour, which many said they found it inspirational to hear.

Rhiannon Hughes, Deputy Principal Curriculum was delighted with the results of the evening and commented, "We were absolutely delighted to introduce our first FE Awards presentation evening, where we were able to celebrate so many achievements of our learners, with many high quality attributes and skills rewarded across every subject area.  The successes were commendable, and the evening was a wonderful way to see out another resoundingly successful year here at North Kent College".

We received excellent feedback from our guests who attended and we look forward to making this an annual event.

Congratulations to all of our winners (see below) - we look forward to seeing what you achieve next!

Alice Chapman - Principal’s Award 
Rachel Hampton - Principal’s Award
Connor Tolhurst - Principal’s Award
Fiona Winder - Principal’s Award
Divine Akintomide - Assistant Principal’s Award – Contribution to the College
Chris Warner - Assistant Principal’s Award – Outstanding Commitment
Dreadna Dubel - Outstanding Attitude to Learning
Freya Lampkin - Outstanding Commitment
Lucy Long - Excellent Practise in Work Placement
Sian Robinson - Positive Work Ethic & Focus
George Sydee - Student of the Year - Sport Coaching & Performance
Megan Mead - Student of the Year - Sport Coaching & Performance
Lauren Sparks - Student of the Year - Personal Training Year 2
Ellie Newbury - Student of the Year - Personal Training Year 1
Chloe Newington - Hard Work & Dedication
Benson Izekor - Outstanding Motivation & Commitment
Vivien Taliga - Student of the Year - Public Service
Jack Gower - Outstanding Commitment & Resilience
Emily Openshaw - Outstanding Commitment & Resilience
Stephen Rerri-Bekibele - Outstanding Commitment
Brandon Parkin - Assistant Principal’s Award - Above and Beyond
Jurgita Pociute - Assistant Principal’s Award - Outstanding Motivation and Commitment 
Moore Cruise - Exceptional Student Progress Award
Charlotte Denby - The ‘Extra Mile’ Award
Sian Scarborough - Outstanding Progression 
Sydnie Colville-Scott - Outstanding Progression & Development
Amanda Day - Outstanding Motivation & Commitment
Marcus Hunt - Inspirational Final Major Project 
Gursimran Hayre - Outstanding Motivation & Commitment
Laura Ash - Outstanding Commitment & Resilience
Sophie Ellul - Broadcaster of the Year
Oliver Winter - Outstanding Commitment
Xola Mji - The Leonardo da Vinci Award
Patrick Osasughe - The Bad'um Tish Award
Charles Davies - The 'Grafter' Award
Poppy Carter - The 'Grafter' Award
Peter Blackwell - Barber of the Year
Julie Ryan - The Most Practiced Award
Sophie Niblett - Beauty Therapist of the Year 
Abbie Davies - Make-Up Artist of the Year
Conor Haswell - Vice Principal’s Award – Commitment & Resilience 
Simeng Xie - Vice Principal’s Award - Outstanding Perseverance & Progress
Daniel Brown - Excellent Understanding & Aptitude to Vocational Training 
Jordan Macpherson - Excellent Vocational  Skills & Work Ethic
Tobie Mitchell - Outstanding Student – Refrigeration & Air Con
Dexter Hiscock - Outstanding Motivation & Commitment
Thomas Russell - Outstanding Motivation & Commitment.
Thomas McCann - Student of the Year - Motor Vehicle
Clyde Diamond - Student of the Year - Engineering
Jack Smith - Outstanding Motivation & Commitment 
Sherin Jiji - Student Chef of the Year 
Jacob Sarsam - Most Consistent Catering Student
Alize Ramsey - Excellent Motivation & Commitment
Haydon Murphy - Most Consistent & Focused 
Levi Boswell - Excellent Motivation & Achievement
Laura Saward - Highly Enthusiastic & Hardworking 
Paige Dunbar - Apprentice of the Year - Legal & Office Support 
Megan Barrett - Student of the Year - Legal & Office Support
Marcos Caires - Assistant Principal’s Award - Achievement in English & Mathematics
Leon Brook - Most Improved in English GCSE
Jake Hartnup - Outstanding Attitude in English GCSE
Matas Galkevicius - Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics
Lewis Kemp - Outstanding Learner in GCSE Mathematics

All News Articles