Which level is right for you?

Entry Level (E1-3)

These courses are typically for students who may not have the academic qualifications to go straight onto a Level 1 course. Entry Level courses give you additional communication, numeracy and study skills to help you progress on to a Level 1 course in your chosen area. Entry Level is available with Gateway Learning courses. No GCSEs or formal qualifications are required.

Level 1 Plus

For students who don’t necessarily have all of the academic qualifications to enter straight on to a Level 1 course, or who need additional support and are a level up from Entry Level, but not quite ready to dive straight into a Level 1 course. Most departments will have these courses, but please ask at your interview for more information.

Level 1 - Foundation

These courses provide a foundation from which you can progress on to a Level 2 course in the area of your choice. You will need at least two GCSEs at Grade 2.

Level 2 - Intermediate

You can progress from a Level 1 course, or enter straight on to the course if you have at least 2 GCSEs at Grade 3 in core curriculum subjects. For specialist crafts or trades, you may need a Level 1 City and Guilds qualification or a NVQ Level 1.

Level 3 - Advanced

These courses are essential for entry into university or Higher Education. You will usually need four or five GCSEs at 9-4, a BTEC First Diploma with a Merit, a NVQ Level 2 or equivalent.

Level 4/5 - Higher Education

These are courses that are 1st (Level 4) HNC or 2nd year (Level 5) HND/FD/BA/BSc
You should be over 18 and have a relevant Level 3 qualification, such as Access to Higher Education, AS or A2, BTEC National Diploma, NVQ Level 3 or equivalent. You may also require a GCSE Grade 4 (minimum) in Maths and English.

(N.B.: Some courses may also require additional experience, a specific qualification, a portfolio of work or an audition).

Level 6 - Higher Education

These are third year BA/BSc courses, in other words, they represent the final year of a Degree programme.  You will need an appropriate Level 4 and Level 5 qualification to be able to start a Level 6 qualification.


We offer 2 Levels of Apprenticeship; Level 2 and Level 3. Entry requirements are similar to the Level 2 and 3 programmes above. More information about apprenticeships can be found here.